One great thing about Ubuntu Linux

[disclaimer]I am an Ubuntu fanboy.[/disclaimer] I recently decided to do something I had never done before. I decided to do a dist-upgrade. Now a dist-upgrade is the equivalent to to running Windows XP and Being able to upgrade all of the packages to Vista via the internet and without any kind of disk media. This is usually not recommended (you really do accumulate a lot of crap and should blow your system clean every once in a while) but can be a fun experience. **NOTE** BACK UP BEFORE YOU DO THIS, SOMETIMES UNEXPECTED THINGS HAPPEN AND YOU DON’T WANT TO LOOSE DATA **

I went from Ubuntu 6.06 LTS “Dapper Drake” to Ubuntu Ubuntu 6.10 “Edgy Eft”. This took an entire night over my DSL connection but I was still able to use the computer. It is really cool to have Firefox 1.5 open, close it for a little bit, and open it sometime later to 2.0. This actually surprised me because I was not watching the terminal for the status. after I got all of the available updates for edgy, I went ahead and dist-updated to the newest version of Ubuntu 7.04 “Feisty Fawn”. Which the the whole next day.

Now I have to be honest I have some packages that won’t update. It’s not really that big of a deal, and I have a problem with Beryl (the 3d compositing window manager) where my window borders disappear. Again not a big deal to me.

If you want to know more about dist-upgrades just leave a comment and I’ll add it to this post

Leave a Reply

