Thoughts on the Alpha

Technical thoughts:

I installed goddard on my eeepc 900 and have some issues. Right after the first boot gnote crashed and activated the Automatic Bug Reporting Tool (ABRT). So I lol’d and started getting my WPA key put in so that I could report it. Only one problem. The ABRT window is bigger than my screen size, it cuts off just above where you can attach files. So I have no way of easily reporting the gnote bug.

If that wasn’t enough I can’t update it because of a discrepancy in Open Office core versions, and for some reason yum upgrade –skip-broken isnt working, nor is trying to let the GUI update tool handle it.

Non-Technical Thoughts:

I was almost pissed yesterday when I saw the “official” shortened urls for linking to the Alpha yesterday. The “official” shortened urls were setup so that we (the project) could have some data on how popular this release was. My issue was the services that were used are non-free; is.gd, bit.ly, and tinyurl. I was prepared to loose my mind and then I decided that before loosing my cool I should mention this in the mailing list. So I went through my trash folder (I’m so glad I don’t ever clear that out, it is now a personal procedure to keep all “trashed” email [and I don’t worry because my hard drive is encrypted]) and replied that I was bad form for us to use non-free url shortners and let everyone know about ur1.ca and 2tu.us. No one knew these existed and it even prompted Paul Frields to edit his blog post to add them to the list.

Sometimes a little checking before you fly off the handle and run your mouth on the interwebs is good. Damn this whole turning 25 and deciding I should act like an adult thing πŸ™‚

So please tryout Goddard; see how it works for you, and please post your thoughts about it in the comments or drop a link to your thoughts if you post them else where.

6 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Alpha

  1. Jaroslav Reznik says:

    You can use Alt + click somewhere in bottom of Abrt window and move (or click on icon in the top left corner and select move). It’s not ideal but Abrt people are working on this issue πŸ˜‰

  2. Richard Van Dehrer says:

    I’ve installed the Alpha yesterday and here is my experience so far:

    – The Nouveau-Gallium3D thing sounds promising, can run Compiz _without_ blur and a lot of glitches if you choose the wrong plugins, but… will they manage to stabilize the driver until the final release? Doens’t look like an easy thing to deal with. Returning to Compiz, if you enable the Blur, X hangs the entire system (and god knows what else can have the same effect). Before trying it out, make sure you enabled the Magic Key on sysctl.conf (it is disabled by default).

    – Firefox is missing translations. I’m not a native english speaker and like to have the programs I use most translated, even the Rawhide (fc14) package is missing it.

    – Plymouth segfaults/hangs constantly, but doesn’t interfere with the boot/shutdown process.

    Probably I’ll keep it until the final release to watch its progress. Fedora is strangely stable for a Alpha release, at least on my rig.

Leave a Reply

