I competed in the 2011 Indiana Martial Arts Challenge

I competed in the 2011 Indiana Martial Arts Challenge

That’s right I did something that required me to get off my butt and do something (I know I’m just as concerned as you are). I also realize that I haven’t discussed Martial Arts on this blog before. Maybe I should fill you all in.

I have been studying what I will be generically referring to as Kung-Fu. Fo those of you that care I am officially learning Hung Fa Yi Wing Chun and my school is transitioning to Black Flag Wing Chun (Ka kem bun I think…. I’m not sure how its spelled to be honest). I have been at Meng’s Martial Arts of Richmond for 6 months now and last weekend had my first tournament. We really aren’t a big tournament school, but when one rolls around we like to go and have a bit of fun.

Like with most things I get involved with I have gotten involved beyond the classes and have put my nerd-fu to use working with some other students getting a notification system going and helping Sifu (my teacher [it’s Cantoneese for Kung-fu teacher or father]) with some marketing things [all ideas I have gratiously stolen from marketing GNU/Linux :)] But this is for another discussion.

So for the last 6 months I have trained my mind and body in the same way that the Shaolin Monks have for hundreds of years (well ok I’m not that hardcore). And so I took part in this tournament to get a near-real-life test of what I have learned. I have learned that I am a pretty terrible ground fighter (this will change with hard work over time), and I am better than I thought I was at kicking and striking. I wouldn’t go so far as to say I am good; just that I am better than I thought I was.

So back to this event. I recieved 2 silver and one bronze medle.

One Silver was in grappling where I was choked to submission in less than 30 seconds. Got silver because there were only two of us in our weight class.

the other silver came in point sparring. Where I had 2 matches. The fist one as against another Kung-Fu student (from a differnt school) and a former co-worker. He did a great job but I came out victorious. The next match was against a gentleman who did Karate. He had me confused the whole match because we was doing this dance and I couldnt tell wheter he was going to attack or not. All part of the game, and he played it well.

My Bronze came in Continuous Contact or Continuous Point Sparring. I was more happy with the outcome of this event compaired to my grappling but was more furstrated with the outcome. All of the events at this competition had a rule against “blind techniques” which ment that you couldnt hit anyone in the back of the head or use a move that you couldnt see where you were throwing it. It was a safty issue. The Gentleman that I went agaisnt in the CC match continuously punched me in the back of the head, for which he recieved many warnings, but they allowed him to continue. At one point he did throw a legal punch and got me right in the top eye lid; which caused my vision to go “wonky” and I had them call the match, giving him a Knock Out and giving me a wicked headache for a couple of days.

Overall I faired way better than I thought and had a lot of fun. I think I will do more blogging about my adventures in Kung-Fu if you would like to hear about it. And I hope you all enjoy the videos (when I get them up).

If you want to know more about anything in this post just comment I will elaborate as far as I can 🙂

Leave a Reply

